How to Sync Charges from your Platform to QuickBooks

Contents

Within our Gym Management Software, you’re able to connect to QuickBooks to automatically sync all charges on your platform with your QuickBooks account.

There are 3 main setup steps to take before you’re ready to sync your charges to QuickBooks:

  1. Connect to QuickBooks
  2. Make sure you have “Locations” set up in QuickBooks for mapping your locations.
  3. Make sure you create “Accounts” in QuickBooks and map your purchaseable items for sale (packages, products, plans for sale, group memberships, etc.).

Once you’ve completed those steps, you’re ready to sync your charges! Here’s how to sync charges from your platform to QuickBooks:

The step-by-step instructions are below.

Step-by-Step Guide: – Sync Past Charges Manually

Step 1: Make sure you’re signed in with your Exercise.com for Business Admin / Owner account.

Step 2: IMPORTANT: Make sure you have mapped your Locations and Items for Purchase to QuickBooks BEFORE syncing charges.

Step 3: Click the Account tab, then click “Connected Apps” on the left side menu

Show where to find Connected Apps

Step 4: Scroll down to the QuickBooks option and click on the “Sync Past Charges” button.

show the sync past charges button

Step 5: Select your time frame for syncing past charges and then click “Sync Past Charges”.

You can click the calendar icon to select custom dates.

show where to adjust dates

Step 6: Click the “Sync Past Charges” button to confirm your dates and start syncing.

You will not be able to sync charges for today’s date in order to prevent duplicates.
show the sync past charges button
SUCCESS! Now you should see some a confirmation message, and the sync will happen in the background:
show the sync success message

It will take some time for all of your charges to sync to QuickBooks, depending on the number of charges in the time period you selected.

Step-by-Step Guide: – Enable Automatic Syncing

Step 1: Make sure you’re signed in with your Exercise.com for Business Admin / Owner account.

Step 2: Click the Account tab, then click “Connected Apps” on the left side menu

Show where to find Connected Apps

Step 3: Scroll down to the QuickBooks option and click on the “Manage QuickBooks Settings” button.

show the manage quickbook settings button

Step 4: Click the toggle switch to enable automatic syncing.

show where the toggle is for automatic syncing

Step 5: Scroll down and click the “Save QuickBooks Settings” button to save your changes.

show the save button for quickbooks settings

Your charges will now sync automatically!

Charge Details in QuickBooks

Each charge is entered in QuickBooks as a “Deposit” with 4 line items: Gross, Fee, Refund, Fee Refund.

  • Gross: The total amount charged to the customer
  • Fee: The transaction fee for the charge
  • Refund: Any refund for the charge
  • Fee Refund: Amount of the transaction fee refunded when a charge is refunded

show an example charge in quickbooks

Prevent Duplicate Line Items When Reporting by Location

Make sure to customize your Location reports in QuickBooks and filter by “Distribution Account”, then select the Income accounts you want to view.

Otherwise you may end up with duplicate “Net” amounts for the charge.

Here is how to set up your Location report filters to remove duplicates:

Step 1: Click the Settings icon in the top right corner of QuickBooks.

show location of settings icon

Step 2: Click “All lists” in the “LISTS” column.

show where to find all lists

Step 3: Click the “Locations” option.

show where to find locations

show where to click "run report"

Step 5: Click the “Customize” button to update the filters.

show where the customize button is

Step 6: Under the “Filter” category, check the box for “Distribution Account”.

show where to find the distribution account checkbox

Step 7: Select all the items you want to track for this Location in the dropdown selector.

show where to select items for the report

Step 8: Click the “Run report” button.

show where to find the run report button

Step 9: Click the “Save customization” button to save these changes for next time.

show where to find the save customization button

 

This will clear up any duplicate “Net” line items showing in your Location Reports.

Updated on June 17, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support

Leave a Comment